turkey and tallowberries…

Is it really november? The middle of november? Then, it’s time for turkeys.

I love this pattern from lori brechlin of notforgotten farm.

This is the first time i’ve punched this design, but lori’s patterns are some of my favorites. You can find her things here. I traced this notforgotten farm design on weavers cloth and thought about my color choices. I decided on my background color right away.

Valdani 5 is one of my favorites. It works well with almost all the valdani colors i use and is easily aged with coffee or tea. the other colors i decided on were somewhat serendipitous. I didn’t plan them beforehand so i can tear them out and start again if i choose.

So far i’m happy but i need a little help from my friends. Usually i ask lilly, ellis and otis, but they’re busy today, so i’m turning to my canine friends.

Josie, what do you think of my turkey? Is she realistic?

“zzzzzzz……..” ~josie-jo

Josie lives with four young kitties, and is kept busy keeping them in line all day long. I know she’d approve if she could keep her eyes open, so i’ll keep punching…

I’ve filled in the tallowberry vines and decided to use valdani h205 for the berries themselves. This is such a great orange; very soft for orange and it easily mixes with golds, browns, blues and greens, like i’m using here, but also works with reds, and every neutral. What do you think Duke?

“look at my bowtie. i love every color under the sun! orange blends with my grey beard perfectly!” ~the dukester

(i swear, dogs are the enablers of the world. while i have every personality trait of the loner, shy, “leave me alone” feline, i definitely embody the enabling canine.)

Duke likes the orange, so i’m going with it.

So, now to fill in the background.

More to come!

Keep creating!

~rebecca

9 thoughts on “turkey and tallowberries…

  1. Hi Rebecca! I absolutely love all your colors! And the turkey colors are perfect. Can you tell me what you used for the turkey head colors? Thank you !

  2. Hi Rebecca, It’s nice to see posts again on the simple quiet. I haven’t posted for quite awhile and find WordPress to be changed. Even creating a post seems different. Did you experience that too?

thank you for spending some time with me!