polly minick designs….

You probably know by now that I love Polly Minick’s patterns…. especially her American Summer designs (click here).  I’ve punched her Moby Dick pattern before…

big whale

big whale

This is one of my favorites.  I just love the simplicity of it… don’t you, Lilly?…

lilly?  is that you under there?

lilly? is that you under there?

Lilly is usually a lover of Polly Minick designs…..

"did you say polly minick?" ~lilly

“did you say polly minick?” ~lilly

Ah ha!  I knew Lilly’d come out for Polly!  Of course, sometimes Lilly needs a wakeup call…

"lilly???" ~ellis

“lilly???” ~ellis

Ellis is the busy-lizzie here-abouts.

In addition to Polly’s Moby Dick, I also put together a few others…

"up north"

“up north”

This, “Up North” pillow is stuffed with lavender.  I don’t know about anywhere else in the USA, but in Michigan, if you’re going on vacation May~October, you’re goin’, “up north”!

to the beach

to the beach

Randy and I used to have a place, “up north” and we had a sign just like this, pointing friends in the direction of, “the beach”.  This piece was inspired by Polly’s designs and by my own….what do you guys think?  should we go to the beach?….

"are you kidding?" lilly, ellis, otis

“are you kidding?” lilly, ellis, otis

After all, it is only March and this is what March on the beach looks like ’round here….

my sister, her children and randy

my sister, her children and randy

lighthouse

lighthouse

I altered this Polly Minick pattern a bit, but love it just the same….  here’s the back…

lighthouse back

lighthouse back

I mounted the finished embroidery on a piece of found wood and added a tiny pocket to the back.  Here’s what the lighthouse down the road from our house actually looks like in March…

lake michigan at her gentlest in march.  she can be MUCH fiercer!

lake michigan at her gentlest in march. she can be MUCH fiercer!

 

You can see these pieces on my etsy shop by clicking here, if you’d like.

It may be only March, but I am ready for summer!  How about you?

 

rebecca

6 thoughts on “polly minick designs….

  1. Your blog is so inspiring. And I love your special guests! I was raised in southeast Michigan and sadly did not discover the rest of our wonderful state until adulthood. It is such a beautiful state with great cherry pie, I might add!

  2. Love the pics u posted,,, beautiful, ,,, lovely mats,,, especially love the lighthouse and how u framed it,,,,

  3. They all look great. I did the swimsuit awhile back before I got deep into Valdani. I used “Ten Foot” to label it, which is a swimming hole from back home in the UP. Your Valdani blue is so much softer looking.

    Also, I love your room with the three potted greens. Thanks for the visit Rebecca.

thank you for spending some time with me!

