love…..

I’ve been thinking about punching a design using just one color.  One very neutral color, of course.  With Valentine’s Day approaching, I decided that a love-themed piece was just the ticket….

love stocking design

love stocking design ~ feel free to grab this photo and use the design for you personal pieces, just no mass marketing, please.

I drew a very simple pattern directly onto my weavers cloth and chose my favorite color….

valdani 5

valdani 5

Valdani’s light ecru (#5) is by far my most used floss.  It’s been a workhorse for me, coloring everything from backgrounds to the tiniest details in almost every piece I’ve punched.  You can find Valdani 5 at Snowflake Memories by clicking here.

The thing about using a single color for an entire piece, especially a very vanilla color, is that it can quickly pall, which is why I thought Valentine’s Day would be the perfect foil for this concept.  Valentine’s can be frilly and lacy, and ever so feminine…. and, therefore, so much fun to punch!

texture, texture, texture

texture, texture, texture

Polka dots and scallops are two of my favorite visual textures.  I set my Cameo punch needle at level 4 for the polka dots and level 3 for the scallops and heart.

ah love *sigh*

ah love *sigh*

For the letters L, O, V, E, I again used level 4.

done with raised bits

done with raised bits

Once I finished all the dots, scallops, letters and the heart, it was just a matter of filling in, which I did using level 1 on my needle.

aged

aged

I then aged the entire piece with coffee, using a bit more java on the letters so they would “pop”.

stocking stuffers

stocking stuffers

No stocking is complete without a few stuffers.  The heart in the middle reads, “Love”, just like the stocking.

backed and buttoned

backed and buttoned

I backed everything with some ticking and added antique bone buttons and my signature pocket.

voila

voila

And, there you have it!  A little love!  You can visit my Love stocking in my etsy shop by clicking here, if you’d like.

 

Love is in the air!

 

rebecca

6 thoughts on “love…..

  1. LOVE the love stocking ! So talented and thank you for always sharing with us I may try just doing it as a heart 😊 God bless diana

thank you for spending some time with me!

