stockings… they’re not just for christmas anymore…. and a pattern from cathy

I love making Christmas stockings, but Christmas only comes once a year ~ so what’s a girl to do?  There’s only one solution… make stockings for every holiday and season.  I have three Halloween/Autumn stockings in the works currently, and I’m having a ball!

trick or treat stocking

trick or treat stocking

The above is a design from Robin of Bird in the Hand Primitives.

nice and neutral

nice and neutral

You can find links to Robin’s designs by visiting one of her blogs here.

white witch

white witch

One of my favorite designs is from Lori Brechlin of Notforgotten Farm.  This White Witch is right up my alley, and it’s the perfect size for a little stocking.

punched and ready for aging

punched and ready for aging

You can find links to Lori’s patterns by visiting her blog here.

autumn stocking

autumn stocking

This is another design from the talented Robin of Bird in the Hand Primitives.  I adapted it a bit for a stocking.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I added some stocking stuffers….OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think stocking stuffers are the reason I love stockings so much!  I backed and lined this stocking with ticking…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…which is the same ticking I used to back the stocking stuffers.  Antique bone buttons and a little pocket finish the fun.

I’m excited to try my hand at Thanksgiving stockings next.  Here’s a design from Cathy Sowers of Four Ewe Farm.  She’s the one that does all those fabulous three-dimensional pieces I’ve been showing you, and she generously sent this pattern to me with her permission to share it with you!

cathy's turkey

cathy’s turkey

I think this will make a great stocking!  Thank you Cathy!  If you use Cathy’s design, please giver her credit.

 

Enjoy these autumn days!

 

rebecca

 

10 thoughts on “stockings… they’re not just for christmas anymore…. and a pattern from cathy

  1. Lovely work as always. I was wondering what brand needle punch do you use? Your work always looks so fine compared to mine. I use the Cameo on a number 1 with valdani size 12, but it does not look the same as yours. Any ideas? Karen

    • hmmmm…. That’s a great question, Karen! I’m not exactly sure what you mean by finer, but I, too, use the Cameo on number 1 with Valdani size 12. I use two strands of Valdani in the medium size Cameo needle tip. Sounds like we’re doing the same thing. My guess is that my work isn’t any finer than yours, but that you’re seeing your work in person and mine in photographs!

      Another possibility is that I’m a super close puncher. That is, the back of my work looks as tight as the front ~ no space between my rows of punching.

      A third possibility is that I pressure steam press both the back and the front of my pieces when I’m done punching and coffee-aging. The intense heat and steam sort of “flattens” my loops and evens things out a bit. I use a Rowenta Pressure Iron & Steamer on the highest heat and steam settings.

      I hope this helps! Thank you for getting in touch, Karen!

      rebecca

thank you for spending some time with me!

