hearts in hands….

It’s been a long time since I’ve done a heart in hand, but I came across this antique example and fell in love…..

Group 03a 96 px

“nobody, not even the rain, has such small hands” ~ e.e. cummings

Those gloves, worn and used, yet someone loved them, or the wearer, enough to encompass them… to create a work of art.  My version will never compare, of course, but, perhaps you’d like to join me in your own personal opus of these hearts in hands?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

hearts in hands

You should be able to grab the above and adjust it to whatever dimensions you’d like.  I’ve decided to stay very neutral, (whoa…. no way rebecca).  Here are the colors I’m planning to use:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

hearts in hands colors

Reading from left to right, they are:  Valdani 5, 6, o549 and jp4.  I use, as always, two strands of #12 perle cotton in my medium Cameo punch needle, set at the lowest, #1, setting.

 

I would LOVE to see your version!

 

be well, and if you can’t be well, be HAPPY!

 

rebecca

5 thoughts on “hearts in hands….

  1. Hello Rebecca, I think I may try this one. I am not sure how to post a photo here, but I would like to show you the heart I am hooking. You were my muse, and I used very subtle colors; soft pale yellowish cream, blueish grey, and soft blue. Thank you for inspiring me, Rebecca.

  2. Love this one and the colors you chose of course!! Love all your muted colors! I have one silly question though do you use 2 balls to stitch with for your 2 strands?? or is there another way like one does with a ball of yarn from the inside and outside?? thanks I love your work and like the idea of a pincushion too!!

thank you for spending some time with me!

