2 cats 2 birds finish, and cats….

IMG_4988

“don’t take a picture now, we’re sleeping.” ~lilly and ellis

Lilly’s been feeling that the live feline element has been lacking in my recent posts…..

IMG_4879

“don’t take my picture now, i’m sleeping.” ~otis

I’ve mentioned to her that pictures of cats sleeping leaves some excitement to be desired….

IMG_4886

“go away. i’m trying to sleep.” ~ellis

She told me she’d try to galvanize her cohorts into action…

IMG_4872

“my eyes are open. any minute now, ellis and i will do something photo worthy…. though, we may need a little snooze before that happens.” ~lilly

Thus far, the results have been poor at best…

So, we’ll move on to our 2 Cats 2 Birds project.

first staining

stained

I soaked the finished embroidery in coffee for a while, squeezed it, and let it dry.  But, I feel like this is too much staining, so….

rinsed

rinsed

I rinsed out some of the coffee and let the piece dry again.  I’m much happier with this level of aging.

trimmed

trimmed

Next, I trim the weavers cloth.  I’m planning to use the remaining weavers cloth as the backing.

pressing

pressing

I prefer to have the backing completely hidden from the front view, so I fold and press it back as much as possible.

three sides done

three sides done

For the fourth side, I fold the weavers….

first fold

first fold

…so that when I press the final edge I’ll have a nice, clean finish…

ready to stitch

ready to stitch

I like using this method for my antique-hooked-rug-inspired embroideries.  The back is reminiscent of an envelope which brings to mind days gone by when writing, mailing and delivering letters was something of an art.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sometimes, I like to hide my stitches, but this time I think I’ll let them shine.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

all stitched

I give the back a good pressing, then…

a little identity

a little identity

…sign and date the back.

finished

finished

And, we’re done!

antique original

antique original

Above is the original, though a very poor quality picture.  Below is my version…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What a fun project this was!  I’d love to see your finishes and share them here if you allow me to!

 

enjoy the day!

 

rebecca

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “2 cats 2 birds finish, and cats….

  1. Great job! Thanks for the helpful instructions. Finishing is always a challenge for me, now you have given me some direction. Not a cat person(Papa is allergic-otherwise???). I love all animals and this is adorable.

    Peace to all, Barb

  2. Perfect timing… I just finished a punched piece and was wondering how I would finish the back! You always do such beautiful work Rebecca and I appreciate your generosity in sharing you finishing, aging, etc… I’ve got the supplies but haven’t taken the leap with rug hooking. Oh, I so want to start that!

thank you for spending some time with me!

