rabbit and sheep, at last….

Rabbit and Sheep Greetings has taken a really long time to find its way to the finish.  Last time we got together we were about to attach the punched and stuffed piece to the rocker….

drill, dowels, drywall screws

drill, dowels, drywall screws

I like to use drywall screws because they’re really sharp and have flat heads.

predrill

pre-drill

The dowels are much more forgiving if a hole is drilled before using the screw.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also pre-drill a hole into the rocker.  Then, it’s simply a matter of putting the dowels inside the legs and adding the screw from the back of the rocker.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s something new for me.  I’ve made many of these types of rocking pieces and the exposed screw head has never bothered me before.  Now, for some reason, I feel the need to cover it up, somehow.

giant tacks

giant tacks

I couldn’t find any vintage upholstery tacks with heads like these, but I did find new ones.  The head is rounded and hollow, and measures about .75″ across, so it will cover my screw perfectly.  I snipped off the shaft of the tack and adhered the head to the rocker.

ta da

ta da

This feels much more finished to me and doesn’t impede the rocking motion of the rocker.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now, I just need to finish the “greetings” banner and we’ll be all set.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I forgot to take pictures of how the banner went together, but basically I just stitched the backing fabric to the right side of the punched bit, turned it, and left a little opening in the seam for the stick (which I covered in backing fabric).OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I didn’t stuff the banner, and simply tucked the stick between the rabbits arm and body.  It stays tightly in place, but can be removed if desired.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

An identification tag on the back finishes it off and…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…we’re done!

whew!

thank you for spending some time with me today ~ be safe, warm and happy!

 

rebecca

6 thoughts on “rabbit and sheep, at last….

  1. Well worth the wait and the effort! Your finish is great. I like the metal flourishes on the ends of the rocker. Did you have any difficulty in sewing the arm to the body?

thank you for spending some time with me!

