starting to finish…..

I’m starting the finishing process on my Rabbit and Sheep Greetings make do, so I thought I’d share some of the details because “turning” a punched piece can be quite a challenge.  Here goes:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Above is the finished punched piece.  I’ll be sharing the pattern with you as soon as I find a blank piece of paper and a sharpie.  (how is it possible that there is not ONE unused piece of printer paper in this house?)

After I finish the punching and aging, it’s time to find a backing fabric and pins.

a bit of ticking and some long pins

a bit of ticking and some long pins

Now, place right sides of the punched piece and the backing fabric together….

two rights will make a right!

two rights will make a right!

Here’s the part that makes the world of difference for me.  I make a fold in the backing fabric over the narrowest part of the punched piece.  In this case, the fold goes vertically along the rabbit’s ear….

see the fold?

see the fold?

Then, I take that fold and fold it over itself, again, so it’s a very narrow little roll….

a roll of backing

a roll of backing

(the above picture is not of the rabbits ear, but the roll concept is the same.) This little roll of backing fabric won’t, hopefully, get caught in my sewing machine needle.  Now, I pin that roll to the punched piece…

pinned and ready to stitch

pinned and ready to stitch

Having this little roll of extra backing fabric, after everything is stitched together, makes turning so much easier.

Now to stitch ~ be careful NOT to stitch the roll itself….

stitching

stitching

In the above, you can see that I stitched around the piece twice. (I don’t usually use white thread, but I wanted it to be visible to the camera so you could see the stitches.)  That’s because I put a LOT of stress on the piece as I turn it right side out and I don’t want any seams bursting.   You can also see that I’ve snipped the edges all the way around the perimeter, except by the sheep’s belly, where I haven’t stitched at all.  The belly is where I’ll turn the whole thing right side out.

Now unpin the roll…

roll unrolled

roll unrolled

See how much room there is, now, for turning?

Turn….OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That’s actually the rabbit’s arm I’m turning in the above photo.  Even with the extra backing fabric, turning is still challenging….OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

…but much easier!

ta da!

ta da!

Now everything’s turned and ready for stuffing.  You may notice in the above that the ends of the sheep’s legs are not stitched closed.  That’s because I want to put wood dowels inside the legs to anchor the stuffed piece to the rocker or whatever I decide to use as a base.

I’ll share the pattern with you, if you’re interested, as soon as I get some paper…. maybe next week?

 

In the meantime, have a blissful weekend!

 

rebecca

 

5 thoughts on “starting to finish…..

  1. I absolutely Love this piece and thanks so much for sharing how you turn it! I’m not completely sure I get it until I think I actually do it myself! I would love the pattern when you share it! I love your work it’s amazing!!

  2. Rebecca, thanks so much for the tutorial. Like primdollie, I too will need to re-read and review your pictures, but I’m so happy to have the information. I can’t wait to see it completed and I can’t wait to try it myself.

    You are so talented, I’m certain we will soon see you on the cover of the Rolling Stone….I mean Punch Needle and Primitive Stitcher. 🙂

  3. Ahhh … a rabbit and a sheep … the perfect combination. You’re always so gracious to share your talents with us. I would love the pattern. This is a piece that surely would take some trial and error for a novice like me, but I’d like to give it that ole college try. I agree with Marion … you need to be on the cover of Punch Needle and Primitive Stitcher …. I know you will!!!!

thank you for spending some time with me!

