ticking horse pattern….

front

ticking horse

Bonnie wrote me earlier this summer and asked if I had a pattern for Ticking Horse.  The answer was, of course, no.  (I don’t know why it is, but I never do draw patterns on paper, at least not until someone writes and asks me to.)  However, I told Bonnie I would get to work on the design and let her know when it was ready……. MONTHS later, here it is, the simplest of simple sketches which you are welcome to use as you’d like, except of course for copying and selling the pattern itself or for mass production.

ticking horse pattern

ticking horse pattern

I think you should be able to grab the above image and drag it to your desktop where you can fiddle with the size and dimensions, if you’d like, before printing.

You may be wondering about the riders head.  “Why”, you may be asking yourself, “does his head look like the Tin Man’s in the Wizard Of Oz?”  Well, I’ve discovered over time that it’s helpful to have something to attach the hat to ~ something more substantial than just the very top of a head.  So, that pointy-funnel-type thing gets punched just like the rest of the head, and when it is stitched to the backing fabric, turned and stuffed it will fit nicely inside the hat giving one something to stitch hat to head.

For the original Ticking Horse I used the following Valdani colors:

left to right:  Valdani 5, blue, and H212

left to right: Valdani 5 ecru, o 575 blue, and brown H212

Here’s a better photo of that blue:

valdani o 575

valdani o 575

I used Valdani 5 for the head, hand and lighter portions of the horse, Valdani O 575 for the blue part of the horse and Valdani H 212 for the rider’s suit and hat.  I also used white for the rider’s collar, shirt front and cuff.

As with most of my punching I used my Cameo needle on the lowest (#1) setting and two strands of #12 Valdani perle cotton.

The fabric I used for the backing looks like this:

vintage-inspired ticking

vintage-inspired ticking

See how it has a thick blue line, a skinny white line, a thick blue line, a thicker white line, a skinny blue line and a thicker white line.  I punched that pattern like this:

Two rows of blue (O 575)

One row of ecru (5)

Two rows of blue (O 575)

Three rows of ecru (5)

One row of blue (O 575)

Three rows of ecru (5)

You can visit this post to see a little bit more about the original Ticking Horse (and some fun kitty pics).

You can visit this post  to see how I make a make-do.

There’s thunder in the air, today.  Some of us hide in bags during storms….

ellis

ellis

lilly

lilly

… and some of us need our paws held.

"it's ok rebecca, the storm will soon pass" ~ the oatbran

“it’s ok rebecca, the storm will soon pass” ~ the oatbran

Until next time, enjoy those sunny skies!

 

rebecca

 

4 thoughts on “ticking horse pattern….

    • Thank you, Karen!

      I put wood dowels inside the legs (the dowels are long enough to touch the inside back seam of the horse), pre-drilled a little hole in each one, then drove a wood screw up through the base (in this case the rocker) into the pre-drilled holes. Golly, I hope that makes sense!

      rebecca

      • I’ve never been able to develop a love of fiberfill, even when I was little I disliked using it, so except for organic lavender and other herbs or sawdust or crushed walnut shells I don’t buy stuffing. I use whatever happens to be around, snips, scraps, clean dryer fluff…. This helps keep my costs down a little, which helps keep my prices down a little, and is a great way to keep perfectly good fabric and thread and fluff out of the landfills.

        Sometimes, my mother-in-law, who is a quilter, will give me her batting snips, but that’s as close as I ever get to fiberfill :~>

        Honestly, my very favorite stuffing is clean dryer fluff. Sounds crazy, I know, but it’s absolutely perfect for getting that firm-old-time-toy-feeling. I can stuff it into make-dos super tight, so they keep their shape, but it’s much lighter than sawdust (which I love but don’t have easy access to) or crushed walnut shells. Plus, I don’t have to drive 25 minutes each way to buy it, which is what I would have to do if I used fiberfill. It’s a win/win for me and the planet!

        Hope this helps, Karen!

        rebecca

thank you for spending some time with me!

