silhouettes…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Silhouettes are so much fun, don’t you think?OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I would like to collect antique silhouettes, but, for now, I have a very special silhouette collection of my niece and nephew.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My sister had the kids silhouettes cut every year while they were growing up, until the very talented lady who created them decided to retired.

I wonder if Lilly, Ellis and Otis would sit still long enough to have their silhouettes cut…

lilly

lilly

Lilly might sleep long enough to have hers done, but she’s never in a silhouette-ish position.

otis

otis

Otis, too….

ellis

ellis

Ellis, himself, looks a bit like a silhouette already…

I’d like to learn how to cut silhouettes, though my live in models may not be the perfect subjects for practicing the art.  The next best thing to being able to cut my own silhouettes has to be punching them.  I started two silhouette projects this week.

witch 1

witch 1

Witch 1 is an average silhouette size.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAShe is starting to come together nicely.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAJust the background to do and then, maybe, she’ll have a companion join her… a warlock, perhaps? or possibly a cat of her own.

witch 2

witch 2

Witch 2 is just a little bitty thing, about an inch and a half across.

mini tart tin

mini tart tin

She fits perfectly into a tiny vintage tart mold.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coupled with a wee spiral of wool and a vintage rhinestone…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…she makes a very elegant adornment!

 

rebecca

 

 

6 thoughts on “silhouettes…

  1. Rebecca, I have long been enamored of your wytches and witches…PLEASE consider selling patterns for these beauties! Pretty please with sugar on top?!?

  2. I love these! So perfect for witches – or cats – and we all know crows are a perfect subject for silhouettes. I love the ‘necklace’ you created.

thank you for spending some time with me!

