life is just a bowl of cherries….

is there a red more lovely in this lovely world?

is there a red more lovely in this lovely world?

I’ve been very quiet this summer ~ introspective… studious, almost.  This is partly due to the fact that I am actually a very quiet, introspective person who likes to study things that interest me.  Partly, though, it’s because many things that affect my life are changing without any help or hindrance from me.  Nothing major, nothing life threatening, just some things shifting a little.  It feels a bit like I’m standing outdoors on a calm autumn day.  The sun is shining, the brilliant leaves lay (or do they lie?) in piles at my feet.  Unexpectedly, from nowhere, a playful gust of wind blows and all those leaves rise up, like a flock of birds in Central Park, and I’m not prepared.  I haven’t moved a bit, but my immediate world has changed dramatically.  Then, the gust of wind passes, the leaves readjust themselves into piles again, my world appears the same as it ever was, but it has changed in subtle, indefinable ways.  Not for the worse or for the better, just… different.

When my mother-in-law called the other day and asked if I could help pit cherries I grasped at the offered reed of normalcy.  Some things never do change ~ cherries ripen when they’re ready and if one wants to smell the fragrant, heavenly aroma of summer fruit baking in a winter pie, one has to pit those cherries right now.  That’s something that just never varies.

my mother-in-law

my mother-in-law

When it comes to food I excel at eating…. preparation?  not so much.  It takes me an hour and a half to peel a cucumber.  My mother-in-law, who is a fabulous cook, bears with me and never points out that she could make an entire salad, including growing the vegetables, picking and cleaning them, in the time it takes me to slice up one green pepper.  When it comes to pitting cherries, however, I am the bomb ~ at least, I think I am.  I can pit a lug of cherries in no time and ask for more, which is why I always say yes when my services are requested.  I mean, who doesn’t like to be good at something, even if it’s just taking a cherry between fingers and thumb and squeezing?

my father-in-law

my father-in-law

My father-in-law, on the other hand, does NOT like pitting cherries, but he does it without complaint.  That’s another thing that doesn’t change.  His generosity and good humor along with my mother-in-laws kindness and kitchen knowledge persevere.  These are things I can always count on.

my husband and sister who are not quite the same height...

my husband and sister who are not quite the same height…

There are other people I count on to remain nicely static, who are ballast in my life.  My husband, my sister, and my friends.

my friend ellis

my friend ellis

my friends otis and lilly

my friends otis and lilly

my friend duke

my friend duke

One other thing that never changes ~ my favorite authors.  (They never change because they are mostly all deceased. :~>)  I turn to them when I’m feeling good, bad or just plain ugly.

So, I’ll leave you, today, with a favorite quote from a favorite writer….  (Oh, and before I forget, today is the July update for Primitive Handmades Mercantile.  If you’d like to take a peek you can click here.)  I think Oscar sums things up nicely…

36169603227544003

 

rebecca

 

5 thoughts on “life is just a bowl of cherries….

  1. Rebecca…I like how you think….I, too, sense some subtle changes occurring in my life. My goal is to rejoice in the midst of the change and wake up each day to the challenge!

  2. I’ve been told that I’m a deep thinker and that thinking can get me into trouble sometimes. I am not a fan of change, and yet things change all the time in our world. Learning how to cope with all that is a challenge. Glad that you’re not facing something earth shattering awful. I always feel a “calm” when I read your blog and see your pictures. A nice feeling.

  3. Love this post. Change is never easy – sometimes its the little ones that hit me hardest – I’ll rise to the challenge of the big ones – I rant over the small ones *smile*.

thank you for spending some time with me!

