days go by….

otis and lilly pass the time...

otis and lilly pass the time…

Does it seem like time floats by?  One quietly drifts along watching the scenery.  Slowly one picks up speed until….

bicycle parade....

bicycle parade….

like riding a bike downhill ~ zoom!  A year, or perhaps 18, are viewed in real-time no more.  One catches glimpses of the past out of the corner of ones mind.

jenny and zach...

my sister jenny and zach…

This weekend, my sister’s son, Zach, graduated from high school.

moi, zach and my randy...

moi, zach and my randy…

I’m not sure how it transpired, but one minute Zach was all about dinosaurs and trucks, building “big towers of power” and Winnie the Pooh, the next minute he’s dipping his toe into unchartered waters ~ college, career and beyond.  Did I encounter a wrinkle in time?

ellis....

ellis….

When I queried, “Ellis, how can this be?  I was 26 when Zach was born and I’m still 26….”  the only response I received was a soft snore.

molly, zach, jonathon and maddie....

molly, zach, jonathon and maddie….

Next year, it’s Molly’s turn to wear the cap and gown, and, in the space of a very few years, Zach and Molly’s paternal cousins will have their time on the podium.

jenny and molly...

jenny and molly…

I see my sister with her incredible children and I am awed.  My heart swells with pride.  How difficult is it to have children, raise them, keep them and let them go?  I’ll never know, for which I am profoundly grateful, but I am even more thankful to have had the privilege of being part of such a family, to have lived vicariously through my sister’s life.  Jenny has always inspired me…always. Her children infect me with hope, and their father, Steve, exemplifies what a father, at his best, can be.

a simple house...

a simple house…

As I retreat to my simple, quiet home, I reflect on the wonder and meaning of it ALL.  I don’t suppose I’ll ever find out what it ALL means.  I may never discover why time, such a regular, regulated, drumbeat is, in actuality, an elastic band.  Do the seconds pass like heartbeats?  Steady and impassive when one is sedate and unconcerned, but speeding up to fever pitch when one is running as fast as one can simply to live in one moment?  Perhaps.  It’s not really important for me to understand time, why it ebbs and flows.

jenny, zach, molly and steve...

jenny, zach, molly and steve…

It’s only important for me to spend that time wisely and well.

 

Congratulations to you, Zach, and to you, Jenny, Molly and Steve!

 

rebecca

11 thoughts on “days go by….

  1. I dearly love your bicycle parade — a wonderfully creative expression. I too often wonder about time – being considerably older – a grandmother now watching my grandchildren speed through time with me looking on wondering how their growing up came so quickly. Some days speed by as if in ‘warp’ speed and some days crawl by. I tend to like those crawling days better than the speeding ones – making each one last as long as I can.

  2. Hi rebecca,,,

    congrats to your beautiful family!…time goes by so fast. My daughter is out of school this year 13 years..unbelievable.

    Your new pieces are so wonderful..

    blessings,
    ~Ronda

thank you for spending some time with me!

