miss mustard seed mirror….

feeling a bit empty

feeling a bit empty

This little corner of our narrow front porch is a lovely place to sit and sip in Spring before the mosquitoes pay their annual visit.  My brother-in-law, Scott, made the chair.  The footstool was once a director’s chair of my grandmothers.  I removed the back and arms and added salvaged wood strips for a top.  The fuchsia, which our hummingbird looks for yearly, is from our local nursery, Barry’s Greenhouse ~ they carry the most beautiful hanging baskets.

This year, I’d like to add a little something to the blank wall.

grandma's mirror

grandma’s mirror

I have this mirror, that was my grandmother’s, which has been behind a cabinet collecting dust for six years.  I think it’s time to give it a second life.

crackles

crackles

The frame is a lovely, graceful shape, but it’s those crackles in the mirror, itself, that I love.

Have you tried Miss Mustard Seed Milk Paint?  It is so much fun, so very easy, utterly forgiving, and, perhaps most importantly, reminds one that beauty is found in flaws as well as in perfection.

first coat

first coat

At first, I mixed my MMS Ironstone paint too thin for my liking.  It was about the consistency of skim milk and I found that when it comes to paint, as is true in my life, I prefer cream.  So, I added more paint powder until I was using what looked and felt like heavy whipping cream.  Another coat of paint later and I had some drying time on my hands.  Perhaps I could sit in my chair and work on my embroidery….

"you want to do what?"

“you want to do what?”

I ask Mr. O, very nicely, very politely, if I may please share “his” chair.

"i can't hear you...."

“i can’t hear you….”

So, I guess I won’t work on my punch needle.

Once the paint is dry I get to work with my scraper.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI scrape and scrape and scrape and scrape.  Because it’s such a nice day I took the mirror outside for the scraping, but indoors would be ok, too.  Miss Mustard Seed Paints are very gentle on the environment and on those who use it.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve scraped as much as can be scraped.  Now, it’s time for a protective finish and I’m going to use Miss Mustard Seed’s lovely furniture wax ~ simply wax on, wax off.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Is there anything better than sitting outdoors on a beautiful day doing simple, quiet work?OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABecause we have vinyl siding I’m going to use these no-hole hooks.  They are easy-peasy to install and can be found at hardware stores or online.

yes, you are the fairest of them all!

yes, you are the fairest of them all!

 

Now, when friends step up to our front door they see beautiful things reflecting back at them:  trees and other green, growing things, bird houses and wind-chimes, and, of course, themselves!

May you always recognize your own elegance and bloom!

 

rebecca

16 thoughts on “miss mustard seed mirror….

  1. I love reading your post……felt like I was working right along side of you, just enjoying the sun and having fun. Thanks. (The mirror is beautiful, I’m sure just like the memories of your Grandmother.)

  2. This was one of my favorite posts! Thank you for sharing. I haven’t tried the milk paint yet but I will now!

  3. Your mirror came out beautiful !!!! I have heard so much about Miss Mustard Seed paint & wax….Now I think I NEED it too !!! What a neat re-purposing for a director’s chair ! Looks so cute ! Those hooks for vinyl siding look great too !!!

  4. Beautiful! your porch looks so cozy. Can just picture you sitting there with a cup of tea and relaxing. Enjoy!! Love the job you did on that mirror.

  5. Thanks for passing along the Miss Mustard Seed information. Your mirror turned out so beautifully. Another addition to your beautiful, peaceful surroundings.

  6. So glad I came across your blog.. such a relaxing blog.. I hope that makes sense.. your writing style, pictures are so peaceful.. Cant wait to visit again, Deb

thank you for spending some time with me!

