another way to finish…

It’s been astonishingly lovely here for the past two weeks, and I’ve spent every waking moment outdoors getting things ready for a lazy summer.  My friends, too, have been enjoying the new season, observing all that happens from the safety of their home.

oh boy!

oh boy!

Nothing escapes their notice, especially the bold chippers who stop by for a snack.

eek!

eek!

Of course, all this intense concentration is exhausting for Lilly, Ellis, and Otis, so they finish their days the way cats do:

"i am not asleepzzzzzz..."

“i am not asleepzzzzzz…”

Otis is a professional!

"i am asleepzzzzzzz..."

“i am asleepzzzzzzz…”

"i'm just resting my eyes...."

“i’m just resting my eyes….”

"scooch over otis"

“scootch over otis”

Today, it’s cold and rainy so we’re indoors working or snoozing.  I’m finishing my Angel Sampler, design by Robin of Bird in the Hand Primitives.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’ve done all the punching and staining, and I’ve chosen some wool to back and edge the Angel.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI left an inch or two of weavers cloth around the edge, snipped and pressed it back.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANow, I’ll apply some glue making sure to get under the weavers as well as on top.  I’ll flip the embroidery over centering it onto the wool and let the glue dry.  When the adhesive is dry, I’ll trim the wool close to the edge.

wool trimmed

wool trimmed

I like to have a scalloped edge when I finish a punch needle with wool.  If I want a large scallop I cut a wide strip of wool to sew around the edge, a small scallop gets a narrow strip.  I’m hoping for a larger scallop so I cut a strip of wool long enough to make it around the piece and about 1/3″ wide.  Actually, I tear a strip of wool so that the edges of the strip are soft and fuzzy.  Now, I’m ready to stitch.

starting

starting

I thread my needle with some Valdani perle cotton and stitch from the front of the embroidery.  I leave a little tail of wool to overlap when I get all the way around.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI bring my thread across the wool strip on a diagonal and hold it under my thumb while I pull the thread tight.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPulling the thread tight on a diagonal allows the wool to bunch a bit.  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI keep my needle close to the edge of the embroidery, making sure I catch the wool backing.  Sometimes, I catch the wool strip as I stitch, sometimes I don’t ~ if it happens it happens, if it doesn’t it doesn’t.  I don’t try to catch the strip, and I don’t try not to catch the strip.

all the way around

all the way around

When I get back to the beginning, I overlap the wool strip over the tail I left in the beginning.  Then, anchor my thread and cut the strip close to my last stitch.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAll done!  I think I’ll leave this piece as a simple mat, but it could be tacked or adhered to a hornbook or other piece of wood or backing.

Wishing you a warm and creative day!

rebecca

16 thoughts on “another way to finish…

  1. Thank you for showing how you finish. I have so many projects left undone because finishing scares me. I could screw up the whole piece by finishing it poorly. You make it less intimidating. 🙂

    • how true ~ finishing is scary! all those hours of work, possibly in ruins at ones feet, all because of a finishing fiasco. i have one project in particular that has been patiently waiting for inspiration…

      rebecca

  2. I love this finish … fingers crossed that I’ll be able to do it! Oh …. one more thing. Seeing you’re ready for those lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer, perhaps you’ll have time to grab a sketch pad and try your hand at designing a couple patterns …. just sayin’. 🙂

  3. Rebecca ~
    What a truly wonderful finish. Thank you so much for sharing your talents with us!
    Happy Mother’s Day to you and all those sweet furbabies.
    Pug hugs 🙂
    Lauren

  4. This is a beautiful finish on a beautiful project !
    I would love to try this edge on a pillow.
    Your blog and it’s lovely pictures have inspired me to pick up Needle Punch.
    After trying it, I have great appreciation for your work !
    You make it look so easy. 😉
    Rose

thank you for spending some time with me!

