united inspiration…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe last time I mentioned United ~ this fabulous design from Notforgotten Farm ~ I’d completed the punching, pressing, and covering the back with a protective layer of fabric.  Now, I’m ready to complete it somehow.

piece of salvaged wood

piece of salvaged wood

I decided to use a piece of salvaged wood, complete with its original paint, for finishing United.  I love all the evidence of use this wood shows.

gluing

gluing

I spread my Elmer’s craft glue all over the back of my punched piece, using the side of the tip to smear the adhesive around.  I used to use a paint brush for spreading the glue, but, the paint brush absorbed much of the glue, it also had to be cleaned when I was done, and it always had to be found in the first place.  So, using the tip to smear saves me time, glue, water and frustration!

let it dry

let it dry

The next part is easy ~ just smooth the punch needle onto the surface of the wood and walk away.  I let my pieces dry overnight.

done

done

You can visit United on etsy if you’d like.

Now that I’ve finished United, I’d like to display it somewhere, like on the mantelpiece.  But, United, sitting up on the mantel all by itself probably won’t be very exciting so I decided to do the whole mantel in a patriotic theme.

mantel

do you love this “america” banner? i got it from Ivonne of the crackling crows

However, now the mantel sort of sticks out like a sore thumb in my quiet, sparse living room, so I decorate the whole fireplace area…

fireplace

fireplace

Of course, you can see where this is going, can’t you?  Now the living room needs a makeover, so I get to work.  I make pillows for the chaises and add lots of my punched and stitched pieces here and there.  I cut out paper bunting and string them together, strewing them hither and thither, I even find a pair of fabulous, chippy shutters at our local antique store, and of course I must have them! Well, anyway, I’ll just show you the pictures and you’ll get the idea….

fireplace

fireplace

usa pillow and little birdie

usa pillow and little birdie

usa oil cans

usa oil cans

flags

flags

peep on a wheel

peep on a wheel

bunting and had-to-have shutters

bunting and had-to-have shutters

love birds

love birds

oatbran thinking about those love birds

oatbran thinking about those love birds

love those chippy shutters

love those chippy shutters

punched bird and rabbit on wheels

punched bird and rabbit on wheels

 

Trouble is, now that the living room is decorated, the dining and kitchen areas are looking a little slack ~ there’s definitely a disadvantage to having an open floor plan!  So…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I made these slip covers for the dining chairs…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These are just lengths of left over linen hopsack from the slip covers I made for the living room a year or so ago.

there's ellis in the background!

there’s ellis in the background!

The dining table has a sort-of-English-Country-Garden thing going on, with a vintage paper-cutter as a base (perhaps the “lawn”), a cake plate and glass dome as the center (kind of like the fountain or statue in the garden, maybe?), and my moss/spoon filled antique custard cups ~ which I made last year.  Can you believe the moss still looks green?! ~ They can be the shrubbery in my tabletop garden.

pretty moss

pretty moss

pretty kitty

pretty kitty

I’m growing rather weary, but I do want to add a little something to the kitchen so that it looks a little fresh, too.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I found this fabulous vintage dish drainer on etsy and thought it would be just the thing.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It has this awesome little round utensil holder.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think a crisp, white orchid adds a touch of whimsy to such a humble piece.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANow, my decorating is complete and I can return to what I really love ~ my punch needle.

 

Wishing you joy and happiness!

 

rebecca

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “united inspiration…

  1. My name’s Jacelyn from St Dennis, Great Britain and I just wanted to tell you your article is really informative. The clarity of your writing is quite nice and I can reckon you are an pro on this subject. With your authorization, would you permit me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming content? Thanks a million and please continue the fantastic work.

thank you for spending some time with me!

