spring fling and transferring a pattern…

PicMonkey Spring Fling Collage

my spring fling

I had so much fun putting this collage of Spring Flings together ~ thank you to Ronda Tedder of The Simple Thyme for showing me how to use PicMonkey!  Ronda is not only a talented needle-woman, she is also FEARLESS when it comes to technology.

My Spring Fling collage features a few things I’ve been working on recently.  I’ll be adding some of these goodies to my PHM shop the third Friday in April.  Others will be on etsy soon.

From time to time, I’m asked how I transfer my patterns onto my weavers cloth.  Here’s how I do it:

First, I turn the pattern over so that I’m looking at the blank side of the paper.  Then, I draw over the lines of the pattern, in black ink, so that I have the pattern reversed or backward.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I place the pattern on my weavers cloth on the underneath-side of my hoop or gripper frame.  I use scotch tape to keep my pattern in place.

ready to transfer

ready to transfer

Now, I flip my hoop over and my pattern is reversed and ready to trace.

use a pencil

use a pencil

I like to use a pencil on my weavers cloth for transferring.  Usually, I keep the pattern pressed against the weavers cloth with my knee or a book or something.  Though I’ve taped the pattern to the cloth, putting pressure in the middle of the paper helps me see the pattern more clearly through the weavers cloth.

transferred and ready to punch

transferred and ready to punch

Now, I’m ready to choose my colors and get to work.

Wishing you moments of bliss today!

 

rebecca

5 thoughts on “spring fling and transferring a pattern…

  1. Lovely collage Rebecca,,great job!..sometimes fearlessness can be quite distracting..spending hours to get a line just in the right place, oh well, modern technology has no bounds.
    Interesting way for transferring. Maybe I’ll do a post on my method as well.

    Thank you for the shout-out today!

    blessings,
    Ronda

  2. Pingback: if only a light box I had … punch needle transfer | simple thyme prims

  3. My daughter showed me how to use Picmonkey awhile ago and it couldn’t be easier, huh? Love it! Thanks for sharing your transfer instructions – looks like it works great!

thank you for spending some time with me!

