rocking horse…

I thought to myself, a long time ago, that it would be fun to make a punch needle rocking horse.  So, I drew a simple horse on weavers cloth and adorned it with one of my favorite Bird in the Hand Primitives designs.  This was the easy, dreamy part, whence everything seemed possible!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I started punching with my favorite hues and added a tiny bit of orange and blue for a bit of something-or-other.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I punched horizontally for the head, tail and around the central motif…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…and vertically on the legs and back.  The mane was great fun!  I punched it long and fluffy….

and then I stuck…. and stuck and stuck.  For several weeks I looked at my horse and my horse looked at me.

Suddenly, and I’ve really no clear idea how it happened, all at once, in one fell creative swoop, my horse was finished.  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used a wood strap, salvaged from an antique trunk and some of its decorative hardware to make the rocker.  Inside the legs are wood dowels through which screws anchor the horse to the rocker.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I visited my favorite site for free vintage clip art.  Graphics Fairy is unparalleled for unique and wonderful ephemera.  I used bits and pieces for both the rocker and a paper tag.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe tag on the right is the same type of tag I covered.  The tag on the left has clip art Mod Podged  on both sides and is waiting to be antiqued.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now, the tag on the left has been rubbed with a Distress Ink ink pad in Walnut Stain.  Once the ink dried, I applied One Step Crackle and rubbed it again with the Distress Ink.  Though you can’t see the crackles in this photo, they are there and add some nice age and softness.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I backed my horse with stained weavers cloth and added a homespun patch.

ta da

ta da

So, there you have it!

On to the next project…. perhaps a rocking sheep, or cat, or….??

Now that winter’s nearly at its end, May all your spring bulbs of creativity bloom beautifully!

rebecca

p.s.

You can see Rocking Horse on etsy if you’d like.

30 thoughts on “rocking horse…

  1. wow!..that is gorgeous..your talents amaze, someone is very lucky to have been first! congrats on the sale~~~ have a wonderful day..
    blessings,
    ~Ronda

  2. Rebecca…what can I say that the others have not already said ?? Ditto to every single comment !! and…Know this….it is sincere and from my heart of hearts….You are so talented and creative…I am truly honored when you create such a wonderful piece using my humble little design !!
    Wow !!!
    Robin

thank you for spending some time with me!

