making bread…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Is there anything quite like the aroma of freshly baked bread?

I love making bread…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love that one can’t rush bread.  It takes time, but not too much time, and patience.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One doesn’t need much to make bread.  Some water, flour, salt, yeast, sugar, a big ol’ bowl, a nice wood spoon and a baking dish.  Oh yes, and some time.

I have my mother’s bread making bowl, and I love it.  The interior of her bowl shows it’s age…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think each one of those crackles represents a loaf of bread made by my mother and relished by my sister and me.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My favorite bread recipe is the simplest to make, no kneading needed, and it makes three loaves, so it’s perfect for sharing with someone special…..

otis likes bread crumbs

otis likes bread crumbs

This recipe was given to me by Lucille Morgan, a neighbor of mine in Mackinaw City, Michigan when Randy and I were first married.  Lucille was a marvel.  She was elderly and nearly blind, but she insisted on spending her summer time alone in her cottage, listening to her books-on-tape and baking her bread which she called Spoon Bread.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lucille was so kind to me.  She not only gave me a loaf every now and then, she also gave me the recipe for her humble, crusty, chewy bread and I’ve been making, and eating it for nearly twenty years.  Though Lucille is long gone, I think of her every time I set the oven to 350* and gather together the ingredients for Spoon Bread along with my mom’s big bread making bowl.

Would you like to try a piece?   Here’s the recipe:

 

Lucille’s Spoon Bread

(oven temp, 350* ~ baking time 65 minutes)

5 cups warm water

1 pkg yeast (2.25 teaspoons)

1 tablespoon salt

5-6 cups white flour

1 cup brown sugar

4 cups whole wheat flour

Combine warm water, yeast and salt in a large mixing bowl, stirring until yeast and salt are dissolved.

Add enough white flour to make a sponge (about the consistency of pancake batter)

Let rise until doubled (maybe an hour or until you remember that you’re making bread)

Stir in the brown sugar

Add enough whole wheat flour to make a thick batter ~ not so thick as a typical bread dough ~ batter should be thick but still pour-able

Pour batter into three greased loaf pans

Bake at 350* 65 minutes or until bread pulls away from the sides of the pan and is golden brown.

Best eaten warm and with a grateful heart!

rebecca

6 thoughts on “making bread…

  1. I love baking bread too – when I was home when our kids were little we frequently had homemade bread. Now it’s Rhoades frozen rolls from the freezer – not homemade, but still good. Just not enough time anymore. ~Ann

  2. It is apparent that Lucille nourished your spirit as much as the bread nourished your body….I have folks like that in my life…you and I are very blessed…

  3. Thank you for sharing not only the recipe but also the story behind it! Homemade soup and bread, m-mm, yummy! Even better when made with your Mom’s bread bowl, too!

thank you for spending some time with me!

