an idea and a giveaway…

‘Twas the Night Before Christmas” has been on my mind.  Pestering me and keeping me awake nights ~ how was I going to finish it?  Some of you gave me really good ideas!  Myra’s suggestion of a tray-type finish started the wheels turning.  Finally, today inspiration struck!

a frame? pretty commonplace isn't it?

a frame? pretty commonplace isn’t it?

You may be thinking that framing ‘Twas the Night… is not only an obvious idea, but it’s a stale one to boot.  But, this is an exciting frame…

old is lovely!

old is lovely!

This is an antique frame, gold leafed and with a rich, time-worn patina.

ellis gives it the sniff test

ellis gives it the sniff test

This frame has just been waiting in the wings for its turn at stardom.  Ellis, the producer and director, has the final say…

"ok by me!"

“ok by me!”

…and gives two thumbs up.  I love all the crackling and other signs of age, not to mention all the beautiful detailing!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

i wish i could replicate all that gorgeous distressing!

Beautiful!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOne of the things that attracted me to this frame for ‘Twas the Night, is that it’s opening is much larger than the embroidery.  What a host of possibilities this creates!  I could use a piece of foam core covered in fabric on which to mount the embroidery, or a painted and distressed board as backing, but what I really want to use is nothing at all except a wire or piece of twine.  I want to figure out a way to suspend ‘Twas the Night… in the middle of the opening, in a way in which the embroidery could be removed and used as a mat, if desired.  This will involve some sort of clips or a sleeve or something, in addition to all my brain cells firing at once!

Now, on to the giveaway!

a simple quiet pear

a simple quiet pear made of wool and stuffed with walnut shells

If you’d like to win this giveaway pear, simply leave a comment on this post and tell me if you like my idea for finishing ‘Twas the Night…, or if you don’t like my idea!  My random generator will choose a winner this coming Saturday, February 9, in the afternoon sometime and I’ll post the winner Saturday evening!

 

In the meantime, think happy thoughts and thank you for being with me!

 

rebecca

 

 

 

42 thoughts on “an idea and a giveaway…

  1. i would experiment with the frame idea, and see how it looked with the frame. you can always change your mind along the way if you think it is too much for the punch needle design. give it a try!

    • Thank you, Karen! I’ve been wondering if the frame is too busy for the embroidery… perhaps a chippy window frame would be better… hmmmm…. You’re right, experimenting is part of the fun!

      rebecca

  2. I think it sounds like a great idea. Perhaps you could suspend it with clear fishing line so it just floats there.
    Hugs 🙂
    Lauren

  3. I love your punchneedle piece and love the frame, so see how it goes! You could always hang the frame on your wall then hang the mounted PN piece on the wall inside the frame. It would appear to float without the trouble of suspending it…my “lazy-girl” approach:-)

  4. I love the frame…..very rich looking, like it has ‘lived ‘ well with all those cracks. So I like the framing idea…..

  5. Love the floating in the middle idea!! The frame is just so lovely and old and everything good!!!! I would love for the pear to come home to my house, I would love it!!! an’t wait to see it all put together!!!!

  6. The Gold Leaf frame is perfect for your piece.
    (And a good fit for the Christmas Season.)
    I like the idea of hanging the frame and then hanging the Needlework inside the frame, but not connected to it at all.
    I tend to frame many of my embroidery pieces on complimentary wool.
    I think your piece would look lovely no matter what you decide !
    Rose

  7. Love the idea of the frame, you are so creative, I know it will work! The pear is lovely, we have pear orchards, thanks for sharing.
    Ronnie

    • Thank you, Ronnie! I hope the frame works! It must be beautiful in the orchards any time of year! My sister and I grew up with two pear trees in our back yard ~ they were amazingly prolific, not to mention lovely, too. :~>

      rebecca

  8. I, too, love the ‘floating in the frame’ suggestion, probably because I am a ‘lazy girl’. No matter your framing choice, your artwork is beautiful and so is the simple sweet pear!

  9. Rebecca, your work is always so beautiful. I would love to see a picture of the punch needle inside the frame. The frame is beautiful but perhaps might steal the show from your work. I prefer when you choose more primitive mounting pieces.

  10. So many nice ideas for your Beautiful Twas The Night Before Cmas…..I know what ever you decide on will be Gorgeous …… old farmes just add so much character to hand work…..can’t wait to see it ! Love your pear !!!!

  11. I like suspending the mat in the frame. I just wonder if by doing that it would draw the attention away from the piece to the frame or vice versa. Very interesting idea for a finish!

  12. I love the frame. It reminds me of the wedding picture of my grandparents, it’s in a frame like that and I really love it. I think the punchneedle would look awesom in it. Also Love the pear. Very clean and simple!!

    Cyndi

  13. Wonderful old gold frame! The muted colors in your punch needle Santa are beautiful! Love the combo of primitive and fancy…always a lovely play on old and new.
    Robyn

  14. Hi,…. It seems to me that a final result comes through the process of editing,.. and that comes just by trial and error. It never hurts to try it! And you can always make changes or move on to something that might be better…
    Have Fun with it…
    Val in Kansas

  15. Hi, I just stumbled upon your blog the other weekend, just love all your work. Spent hours drooling over everything. The color choices you make are gorgeous, trying some changes on a few of my projects. Can’t wait to see the frame on your punchneedle.

    • Hello Rebecca! Thank you for your kind comments ~ I’m so glad you’re here! I just finished framing ‘Twas the Night… and will share pictures tomorrow. Good or bad, I’d like to know what you think! :~)

      rebecca

thank you for spending some time with me!

