finishing snowmen…

duke

duke

That doesn’t look like a snowman, does it?  No, but I am the proud aunt of Duke, the nicest dog in my world, and I get to stay with him for a whole week!  What a Christmas present!  Just look at those eyes ~ what a heart breaker!

While Duke snoozes, I go to work finishing my snowmen.

wynter

wynter

Here’s Wynter, a Freebie design from Bird in the Hand Primitives, in progress with the Valdani colors I used.

wynter's finish

wynter’s finish

After I finished punching Wynter, I aged it with coffee, backed and edged it with wool and attached it to a board.   You can visit Wynter and a few other snowman finishes at Primitive Handmades Mercantile by clicking here.  If the link doesn’t work you can copy and paste the following address into your browser:  http://www.primitivehandmadesmercantile.com/p/the-simple-quiet.html

make do

make do

I always have fun making make dos.

hello!

hello!

This one was particularly fun because I decided to use an antique porcelain faucet as the base, which is rounded.  So, this snowman gets to wobble!

whoa, nellie!

whoa, nellie!

The best thing about the faucet is that it’s a cold water tap ~ I was so excited when I found it, I just couldn’t resist!

brrrr!

brrrr!

This happy snowman was on etsy but will be wending his way to his new home in Canada, soon.  I think he’ll fit right in!

Duke and I are enjoying the wintry weather, and hope you are doing the same!

 

Happy Holidays!

 

rebecca

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “finishing snowmen…

  1. I guess i’m slow! I never thought of using those threads for needlepunch! What kind of needle punch do you have? Love your work! Rosemary

  2. I just showed Emily (6lb.poodle) the picture of Duke …. I think she’s in love! The snowmen are delightful. I believe I have my next project … oh, not the stuffed one … no where near ready to attempt that! 🙂

  3. Rebecca,
    Oh what wonderful work! The snowmen are so full of personality! The wobbly guy on the cold porcelain is brilliant! Hope you are having a merry merry merry Christmas and Santa is good to you and the fur kids!!
    Hugs!!
    Cathy G

  4. Hi Rebecca….

    Would you mind sharing with me the colors you’ve used on these pieces?…I’m working on my Valdani perle 12 collection and you always use wonderful colors…I tried to read the ones you show in the photo,,just can’t make them out…

    thanks a bunch..

    blessings,
    Ronda

    • Hello Ronda!
      Thank you for your kind words!

      For Wynter I used Valdani 5 (ecru), p5 (gold), p9 and o196 (background browns), and 8112 (blue-ish black).

      For the Snowman make do I used Valdani 4 (light ecru) for the little snowman, house, and snow.
      Valdani 5 and 6 for the background, 6 for the windows, p3 for the roof and smoke, h205 for the door, carrot noses, moon, and scarf on the little snowman.
      Valdani h212 for all the dark bits and hat.

      I hope this helps!

      Happy punching!

      rebecca

  5. I’ve purchased a couple of thread sets and would like to start buying individual colors..I so respect your input/suggestions for colors…thanks!

thank you for spending some time with me!

