next installment of PHM santa challenge…

do not disturb…

It’s been a quiet week, which the boys appreciate.  I closed my “necessary-for-working” index finger in a door a few days ago, and very little has been done in the way of punching or hooking or typing… or anything, really!  However, we (my finger and I) are on the mend and itching to return to Santa and his stocking!

Before I was wounded in battle, (yes, it was a battle ~ I was waging war against the years and years of accumulation of “stuff” at my mother’s.  I may have lost that round but I lived to fight another day!) I was able to make a start on aging and finishing Santa.

aging

I filled a cookie sheet (“jelly roll pan, dear” I can hear my mother say) with left over coffee, tucked the outer edges of weavers cloth under Santa and set him afloat.  I’ll leave him to absorb the coffee and go look for something with which to back the stocking.  I know Santa will be safe on the kitchen counter because I have a sentinel on guard.

yes, that’s otis, and yes, he’s on the kitchen counter, and no, I won’t be making Xmas cookies to share with friends this year…

Originally, I had planned to line and back the stocking with wool, but then, I remembered a little suit of clothes.

lovely linen

I purchased this outfit at an antique store, and I think it will be just the thing.  It is a little boy’s suit and is in beautiful condition.  The knickers have bone buttons on the inside of the waistband, the shirt has shell buttons throughout ~ oh lovely, lovely!  (The table that the suit is on, in the photo, is only 3 feet long, so this outfit must have been worn by a toddler or small boy.)  The top, in particular, has the most beautiful mottling of color, from age, and will be a perfect foil for Santa!

Now that Santa has aged and dried, let’s see if I’m right…

oh boy, oh boy!

I think so!  Yes, I do think so!

Now, to decide how best to utilize that lovely fabric, those wonderful buttons, and those intriguing pockets!  Lilly is ready to help me…

between a soft place and a softer place

I, foolishly as it turns out, lean forward to look more closely at the buttons and pockets of the little suit.  Lilly, always ready to assist (in her own comfort), slips between my back and my chair.  Yes, that’s my grey cable-knit-sweater-clad-back you see in the above pic, and Lilly has wedged herself between it and my warm, soft, heating-padded-chair.  I can’t lean back, and I can’t lean forward, and so, here I sit, in this rather uncomfortable posture, until Lilly moves on to greener pastures and fresh fields anew…

 

May your day be filled with comfort and joy!

 

rebecca

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “next installment of PHM santa challenge…

  1. Oh Rebecca what a perfect fit for the backing. I shiver at the thought of your poor finger . I had the same injury via a car door as a child ….. still remember! Take care.

  2. soo sorry your finger has slowed your down… glad you are on the mend. love your finished santa and looks like hes enjoying the coffee bath. what an adorable little boy outfit and perfect linens! so glad you have such wonderful attentive helpers! enjoy your evening!

thank you for spending some time with me!

