a finish and a start…

The other day I shared a picture of Myra’s Wytch One? punch needle, in progress.  I thought it looked fabulous then, but now it looks even better!

myra’s Wytch One? ~ terrific!

Though my copy of Myra’s photo doesn’t do her finished piece justice, it does show the beautiful background Myra achieved, and her lovely hornbook.  Myra, I think it’s wonderful!

 

I am so fortunate to belong to a generous and talented group called, Primitive Handmades Mercantile ~ PHM.  Each month PHM provides a freebie design with its newsletter (click here to visit PHM and sign up for the newsletter).  This month, November, PHM is challenging its members and visitors with a Santa design created by Robin of Bird in the Hand Primitives.  Have you seen Robin’s designs?  They’re whimsical and primitive and so very creative!  Here’s a peek at this month’s design…

click here to visit PHM

Maybe you’d like to give this pattern a try along with me?  Any medium, any size, a pillow, a painting, a pincushion, anything goes ~ I’d love to see what you come up with!

After giving Santa some thought, I’ve decided to punch needle a Christmas stocking with Santa as the center motif.  I’ll be using my large rug hooking gripper frame so I can make the stocking longer than 12″.I added some snowflakes and a few other details around Santa to fill in the shape of the stocking.

nicely neutral

Surprise!  I’ll be keeping my palette neutral.  Above are some of the possibles from Valdani, which I love.  Perhaps Otis inspires my color sense…

otis: the perfectly neutral napper

 

…along with my list of priorities.  I’m not sure napping is as high on my list as it is on his, but that may be because I’m not nearly as good at it ~ he’s a true professional!

 

until next time!

 

rebecca

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “a finish and a start…

  1. Love Myra’s Wytch One..wonderful!….I might have to get in on the challenge..thanks for sharing!..
    blessings,
    Ronda

thank you for spending some time with me!

