how much room does one hooker need?…

I think the answer to that question is, “an infinite amount” or possibly, “how much wool is there in the world?  that’s how much room I need”.  However, few of us have access to the infinite and so we make do.

4’x5′

My work-space is like a grapevine, it’s stealthy and unrelenting, it creeps and grows and spreads.  I have already commandeered one bedroom for punching, now, it seems, I have sprouted a new branch in another bedroom for hooking!

“I’m just going to use this little corner.” I say to my world at large (which consists of a husband and three cats).  “That’s all I need, just this little corner of this little room, and then I’ll be satisfied ~ ’twill be enough…”  And, so far so good, I say to myself.  I have room for a chair, and wool, and scissors, and, of course, a couple of vintage windows….

perfect wool storage

…and some rugs and crocks ~ one never knows when a crock will come in handy.  In fact, I’m using the below crocks to hold my snips!

perfect snip stashers

Vertical space is key when strictly confining ones self to a corner, and regardless of what the man of the house may think, the more nail holes in the drywall, the more inspiring the space!

why not nail a make do to the wall?

Junk yard finds are paramount!  I’ll bet that whoever threw away the below storage-drawer-with-hinged-window-lid had no idea that a hooker would see a potential object of  beauty, perfect storage, and a surface on which to set a cup of tea!

one man’s junk is another hooker’s treasure

I’m sure that this small corner of this small room will suffice.  I will have no need to sprout tendrils of wool in other areas of our home…

hmmm…

come to think of  it there is a nice unused corner in the man-cave.  I’ll bet the-one-who-wears-the-pants-in-the-family would never notice a small, a very small pile of wool… and maybe a few dye supplies, too?

Spread out and enjoy some space today!

rebecca

15 thoughts on “how much room does one hooker need?…

  1. so fun to see your space! i have my den as my room, but have things upstairs in the spare room closet and stuff ….. it does tend to spread. enjoy your day and love all your rugs ect.!

  2. Oh Rebecca,
    This post is such a delight! Your space looks so refreshing and inviting and so organized! What’s with this wool takeover?! Just yesterday I was eyeing the living room to see if perhaps a shelf for wool would fit in there somewhere! LOL!

  3. I know what you mean! I have a huge “studio” room for painting and creating stuff, but my new art of punching is so far in a bag which I carry from place to place. I will start hooking soon, I hate to see what that will be like!! I am not at all as organized as you 🙂 Thanks for sharing! Now I know that I am not the only one :0)

  4. Hi Rebecca, We all know about the far reaching tentacles of the wool beast. It seems when you use a bit up…more arrives to take it’s place. Why fight it? Love your space.
    Robyn

  5. Oooh, I’d love to see the punching room. So much fun seeing other people’s treasures. I covet that caned chair! 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  6. Oh, I know all too well what you mean! But mine is paint supplies. I often think, after I clean up my space “wow, this is so nice, I should keep it like this!” And do I ever keep my word? No. Never. Sigh. 😉

thank you for spending some time with me!

