little thief finish…

 

little thief

Little Thief is punched and aged and ready to be stuffed.  I stitched the wool I chose for the backing all the way around the punch needle, then cut a slit in the back for turning.

ready for stuffing

I like the way the colors in this piece of wool echo the colors of perle cotton in the punch needle.  I’ve had this wool for several years.  It had started out as a camel color plaid before I dyed it this soft orange.  I haven’t known what to do with it until now ~ Serendipity, for sure!

crushed balsam smells heavenly!

I decided to use crushed balsam and snips for stuffing.

stuffed and stitched

After stuffing and stitching the opening closed, I’m ready to add the “pocket” that will slide over the tin pin cushion holder.

i love this part!

Adding the beaded edging takes time, yes, but I absolutely love the process.  There’s something very soothing about beading, and the addition of these little loops makes a big impact.  They really finish this piece!

I used vintage glass beads which I found online.  New beads, or plastic beads, would have been less expensive, just as using only snips or only fiberfill would have been less costly for the stuffing.  But, for me, using quality vintage things, like these glass beads, or using balsam for stuffing as well as snips adds to my enjoyment and I always do a better job when I enjoy the process!

all done!

Here’s Little Thief in his final glory.I just love the tin pin cushion holder!  I added a vintage wood spool with black thread as a finishing touch.I’m so glad Lori Brechlin came up with this fabulously prim design, and that Ali Strebel offers these wonderful tin holders!If you would like to visit Little Thief on Lori’s blog ~ Not forgotten farm ~ click here

If you would like ordering information for the tin pincushion base available through Ali Strebel ~ click here

 

Until next time, live Simple!

 

rebecca

 

 

8 thoughts on “little thief finish…

  1. This is so sweet and I love how it turned out! Those rich colors…perfect for fall! I have just discovered your blog and shop and it is so lovely here! You make such beautiful things! I have always loved the look of these wooly punch needle arts and hooked rugs, but never really gotten down how to make it. I think I dont have the patience 😉 I’ve loved visiting you here!~ heather

thank you for spending some time with me!

