little thief…

ellis has a flair for color

With Ellis’s invaluable assistance, I’ve been able to make my color selections for Lori Brechlin’s, “Little Thief”. I’ll be using Valdani perle cotton throughout in colors: 135 for the squirrel, PT 2 for the acorn body, P 6 for the orange accents, and 6 for the ecru background. I have yet to decide the color for the acorn cap, so I’ll be giving that some thought.

Punching the tail was a new experience for me. Lori’s directions call for a #9 setting on a Cameo punch needle to achieve a fluffy tail. This was the first time I had used such a long needle, and at first I felt a little awkward. After accidentally jabbing my leg a few times, I finally got the hang of it, and the results were worth the minor loss of blood!

love that fluffy tail!

The added dimension makes this piece unique, and the texture is wonderful! Just a little bit more punching to do……and the punching is done! In the end, I chose a pretty brown perle for the acorn cap.

I think I’ve decided on this quiet plaid for the backing.

Wishing you a simple, joyful day!

rebecca

15 thoughts on “little thief…

  1. So sweet. I too, use a gripper frame. I found on- line, a gentleman that would make a special order for me. The inside opening is ll” x 13″. He made it so it wasn’t too heavy to work with as I constantly turn my work over to check things out. I tried a Morgan 14″ hoop but just couldn’t keep the fabric taut enough. I’ve noticed you use a Morgan …… what is your secret for keeping it taut?

    • I would like to try a gripper frame, some day ~ what a good idea to have one custom made, Myra! I find it difficult to keep the cloth taut in the larger Morgans, too, but I just keep retightening as I go. 🙂

      rebecca

  2. He is sooooooo cute!!! Those squirrels are soooooo funny!! 🙂 They eat all of our birdseed, which is really frustrating, but they are so darn cute, we just keeping buying the seed and watch them find a way to get to it!
    Happy Labor day!
    Vicky

  3. he looks like he’s up to something….love the valdani colors…you’ve inspired me to try them! stay tuned for wonderful new things to come using them!!!!
    Blessed be,
    Lori from Notforgotten Farm

thank you for spending some time with me!

