background work

Most days, weather permitting, I eat my lunch on the deck and I almost always have an apple.  One of my friends is delighted to share ~ she waits patiently for the core, and then nibbles delicately.

Speaking of squirrels, have you seen Lori Brechlin’s latest punch needle pin keep?  Oh, it’s lovely!  Here’s a link to Lori’s blog:  click here if you’d like to take a look.

Now, onto some background progress…

Over the weekend, I worked on Magdalena’s Horses a bit.  I began with the light blue at the edges.  One of the things that intrigues me about Magdalena’s designs is the way her backgrounds often move horizontally and/or vertically.  In her original rug, the blue edges are the only parts of the background that are stitched horizontally.  

After punching the light blue part of the edge, I moved to the center and punched the brown/black, then the light brown and onto the medium brown.  (When I listed my colors in my previous post, I forgot to mention that I was using a medium brown, too ~ Valdani 853.)  You can start your background anywhere ~ I always decide to start mine based on what color I already have threaded.  In this case, I had the brown/black and the light brown pearl cottons ready to go

This dark brown is the last patch of brown in the background, then I’ll move on to the grey and the dark blue.  While I’m doing that, I should be thinking about how I’m going to finish this piece, and the last three pieces I’ve done, which are waiting to be transformed….  However, I’m not very good at thinking about what I should be thinking about.

 

How are your projects coming along?  Whatever they may be, may they bring you joy!

 

rebecca

 

2 thoughts on “background work

  1. Love, love, love this blog! I’m just starting punch needle – what kind of “punches” (don’t know what you call them) do you use?
    Thank you.

  2. Hello Jean, and thank you for stopping by and commenting!

    I use a Cameo punch needle (medium needle) with two strands of Valdani pearl cotton set on the lowest (#1) loop height. Let me know if this doesn’t make sense!

    Take care!

    rebecca

thank you for spending some time with me!

