halfway…

We’ve been so fortunate the past two days!  It’s been raining, what a blessing for all the creatures, great and small.  The sun is shining after our morning’s soaking, and a few friends come to visit…

I love the inquisitive Blue Jays, and can you see the Grosbeak waiting in the wings?

 

On our drive homeward, I was able to get a good start on the “two horses…” background.

Backgrounds, like this, always take me a good amount of time.  I seem to do as much looking as punching:  looking at the photo of the original rug, looking at my color choices, looking at the bits I’ve punched ~ looking where I’m going, where I’ve been, if I’m traveling the right road.  Looking is a big part of the process, at least it is for me.  How about you?

Now that I’m half way there, I can see, a bit more clearly, where I’m headed.  What I like about where I’ve been, is with the weavers cloth as the background, I could see a crisp, wintry scene, and I’m inspired to possibly try this design again with a soft white background.  Do I like where I’m going?  That’s a bit more difficult.  I’m never really sure, until I actually arrive at my destination, if the journey was worth it!

until next time, friends…

rebecca

9 thoughts on “halfway…

  1. Rebecca,
    Oh it’s turning out so good!! I LOVE what you’ve done and how closely it resembles the original hooked rug. I do the same thing when trying to duplicate an antique rug. Looking at it and back at my piece. As always, your work is inspirational. Hugs, Lori

thank you for spending some time with me!

