something old…

When I was a little girl I loved dumpster diving…  I don’t think I’ve ever told anyone that.   My sister may not even know, and she knows almost everything about me.  Not that it’s a big secret or anything, the subject just never came up… until now.

I don’t have access to dumpsters anymore, and I think it may possibly be illegal to dive into them, though I’m not sure about that.  However, I live very near a transfer station, now, which is a polite term for a dump.  Imagine the manna ~ I have access to all kinds of trash!  Perhaps you’re thinking, “rebecca, that’s not my idea of a dream come true…. ick!”, and I agree, it’s not for everyone.

But, sometimes, every once in a while, I find treasure ~ the pirates chest opens and, oh boy!

I wonder where these twins spent their lives before entering mine.  They are sturdy and solid and sport no-nonsense hardware.  They are seemingly straightforward, until one looks closely ~ the graining of the wood and the sparest bit of decorative edging around the panes ~ they speak to me of quality and functional beauty ~ a kinship with the Arts and Crafts movement.

ellis makes a determination… …yes, these windows can stay.

At the present time, old windows, doors, screens, etc. are all en vogue.  That will surely change and these time-softened things will no longer find favor with high-end decorators and designers.  For myself, I think I will always prefer things that speak of the daily wear and tear of life, for within the quiet, commonplace challenges lies the secret of simple, joyful living….

Thank you for being with me today!

rebecca

4 thoughts on “something old…

  1. I love your post!! I grew up going to the dump with my Mom. We found such great stuff:) You really are not supposed to go though the dump here anymore, BUT if you happen to be there when someone is dumping something you like you can take it from him:)
    SO FUNNY ~ I have several old windows that I have found along the way!
    Have a great week
    Vicky, Tansy Annie Studio

thank you for spending some time with me!

