Simply dyeing

 

 

When I first started hooking, about ten years ago, I was terrified to dye….  Marry, yes, dye, no.  However, when I finally worked up the nerve to actually try dyeing, I found the process very forgiving and extremely satisfying.  It has rounded out my hooking experience and established another connection between myself and my wool.

 

 

 

If you haven’t tried dyeing, yet, but want to get started, I urge you to jump in.  I started with a dye kit I purchased online.  It came with a piece of wool, the dye already measured and instructions.  Now, I’m not much of a cook, but I can boil water, and when it comes right down to it, dyeing is, in its essence, boiling water.

You’ll notice that one of my pots is stainless steel ~ “shame on you, rebecca” , you may be thinking, but as a novice hooker I didn’t know any of the “rules”.  As a more experienced hooker I still don’t know many of the rules and those I do know, I ignore unless they make my life easier.  I do get a different outcome from the wools dyed in the steel pot as opposed to the enamel ones, but, for me, that’s part of the mystery of the process, it’s part of the fun.

 

So, this week, I’m working on “flavoring” wools for two specific rugs that a client has ordered.  I am dyeing some of the wools and marrying some others.  The married wools are being marbled, one of my favorite methods ~ no dyes needed, just a pot of boiling water and some detergent!  For the batches that I’m dyeing I’m using my favorite neutral, “creamy cappuccino”.  (I like to name my dye recipes after food ~ why not?)  Here’s the recipe:

 1/64 orange

1/32 dark gray

1/32 medium brown

2 cups boiling water

1 yard wool

Otis has chosen his favorite color, too, or perhaps he’s just loving the bit of wool and tag?

Ellis has appointed himself the “fierce guardian of the wool”.  No wonder we’re such good friends ~ two wool loving souls!

I will share the results of my efforts next time.  For now, my friend, adieu.  It’s back to the dye pots for me, and for you?  Whatever your day brings, I hope it’s filled with creative moments!

rebecca

8 thoughts on “Simply dyeing

  1. Hi Rebecca! Congrats on your new blog. I’m a follower now.
    Otis has adorable paws. It looks like he could hold a rug hock. 🙂

    • Me, too, Caroline! I love it when wool comes out of the dryer ~ sometimes it’s like a butterfly emerging from its chrysalis and sometimes it’s as if the butterfly has morphed back into the caterpillar.

  2. I absolutely LOVE it!! It’s about time you wrote about your passion! (and the stooges)
    Fantastic. I look forward to seeing more :0)
    If only Duke could blog…..

  3. Thank you for sharing your dye recipe. I’m just starting out hooking and I’ve gotten so far as to buy a dye pot. It sits in the basement staring at me when I walk past. As soon as school is out I will try your recipe on some wool. ~Ann

thank you for spending some time with me!

