making an old box “new”…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

outside

This may, or may not, be a project that you would be interested in trying.  It’s simple….

inside

inside

…and pretty, and doesn’t cost much more than the price of floss.

I started with a jewelry box from a thrift store given to me by my mother-in-law ~ She’s always finding fun things for me to work on at the Goodwill! ~ but you could use a new wood or paper mache box.

outside

outside

This box was in very good condition with hardly any wear, but a well-worn box could be used instead.

inside

inside

The first thing to do is to take the box apart.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABe sure to keep all the little pieces together!  In addition to taking the lid off and removing the hinge, I also took out the guts of the jewelry box.  Much of the cardboard and glue stuck to the inside and at this point the box looked simply dreadful.  However, after  the next steps which are lightly sanding the exterior and giving the entire box a coat of white paint, the outlook improved.

a coat of paint always helps

a coat of paint always helps

Then, paint the box again, and again… and again! ~ or, until you are satisfied with the look.

ready for distressing

ready for distressing

I let the paint cure for a few days, which is not actually necessary, but I needed time to decide on a design for the “windows”.  I took my inspiration from one of my Fraktur books (you can use any design that appeals to you!).  These are three of my favorite books on Fraktur:

fraktur, fraktur fraktur

fraktur, fraktur fraktur

Next, trace the opening(s) of the box windows on weavers cloth and draw your design.  (If you have a box without windows, you can easily make a punch needle mat and adhere it to the top of your finished box.)OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANext, choose your colors….

some of my favorite colors

some of my favorite colors

…and start punching.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI aged my punch needle, later, with a coffee bath, but you don’t have to!

Now, distress your box to your liking…

i'm so distressed!

i’m so distressed!

I used my vintage windows, with all their chipping, cracking, and peeling, as inspiration.  I sanded the edges of my box and then took a paint scraper to it.  At this point, I felt like the contrast between the “wood” and the paint was too great, so I went back in with a rag dipped in white paint and whitewashed over the naked areas.

Now, you’re ready to choose some clip art for the interior.  If you’d rather not pay for clip art, be sure to use some that’s free.  The Graphics Fairy (graphicsfairy.blogspot.com) is a fabulous resource for free clip art!

i love bird and egg graphics

i love bird and egg graphics

After printing the clip art, measure the interior of your box and cut your graphics accordingly.  Then, using Mod Podge, adhere the clip art to the inside of your box.  A couple of coats inside and outside the box is a good idea.  Be sure to coat the outside of the box with your Mod Podge or another clear sealer before going on to the next step.

Next, using an antiquing paint (or just some brown paint, which is what I used) age your box inside and out with a light coat, wiping any excess off with a rag (a damp rag will remove more age, a dry rag will remove less).

When the antiquing paint has dried go over the whole box again with a coat or two of Mod Podge.

Now, you’re ready to insert your finished punch needle piece(s).  I did not use adhesive on mine ~ I just set my punched piece into the windows.  The removable back on the lid of my box keeps my punching in place ~ but you may need to glue yours.

Voila!  My new old box looks old in a new way!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Whether you try this project or not, Have some Fun today!

 

Until next time…

rebecca

 

 

16 thoughts on “making an old box “new”…

thank you for spending some time with me!

